Allegany Nature Pilgrimage 2008

June 2, 2008 at 8:36 pm (Uncategorized)

Springtime Darner

Springtime Darner Closeup

 

This year marked our third pilgrimage and my first as a leader.  The weather was great most of the time, even if everything in nature seemed a week behind.  Last yeas was definitely better in terms of odes, but I still managed to see some great things.  The first walk I did was on Saturday at 2:30.  The sun was shining, but I hadn’t seen many dragonflies.  As I stopped at the shore to drop off my nets, I found a Springtime Darner emerging.  What a great way to start off the talk!  I also had a few celebrity bloggers in attendance: Jennifer from A Passion for Nature and Toni from A Spattering.  There was a lot of great questions from all age levels.

Springtime Darner Emerging

Springtime Darner Emerging

The second walk was at 10:30 am Sunday, and once again I had an emerging dragonfly.  This time it was three Common Baskettails.  I also had about double the number of participants, and three times as many questions!  I also had another blogger in the audience, Mary from Mary McAndrew’s Nature Sketching and Painting.  I took this last picture about two hours before my walk, but it was too cool not to include in this post!

Common Baskettail Emerging

  Common Baskettail Emerging

10 Comments

  1. toni said,

    that is just too cool!!!! Seeing it emerge. Thanks Jeremy I had a great time. Hope they have you back next year. did Mary know we were having a blogger meeting? I’ll have to pop over to her blog.

  2. mon@rch said,

    So glad you had these guys coming out during your walk! I wish I could have joined you but no way could I have captured such beautiful photos as you did!

  3. Allegany Nature Pilgrimage - Dragons! « A Passion for Nature said,

    [...] Jeremy Martin [...]

  4. Allegany Nature Pilgrimage - Bloggers’ Meet « A Passion for Nature said,

    [...] Jeremy [...]

  5. Dakota said,

    WOW I love your photos so much!

  6. Sumedh said,

    WOAH! A BEAUTY!

  7. erika said,

    I love your dragonfly photos! I’m curious…what equipment are you using for these macros?

  8. karen said,

    Just incredible!!! Hope you post again soon.

  9. Michael Tim said,

    I love your site! :)

    _____________________
    Experiencing a slow PC recently? Fix it now!

  10. greensuzan said,

    Love this picture, thanks for sharing!
    two in one wedding dresses

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

