Spring is here!

May 26, 2010 at 8:02 pm (Uncategorized)

It has been a crazy couple of years here in my life. I have a new job and last week we just moved into our new house. It is located in Allegany county in New York. The house is our dream house with 30 acres in the country. It has a 1/2 acre pond and multiple streams and seeps. I am hoping that I can resurrect this blog as a place to journal my explorations of the new property.

So far for damselflies I have seen Eastern and Fragile Forktails. The Common Baskettails are thick around the pond right now and I have had several emerge in the house. I also had a Dot-Tailed Whiteface emerge in my aquarium, and our first day here I found a teneral female Ashy or Dusky Clubtail. I hope to get out with the camera soon!

Purple Avens

I have been able to photograph some of the flora around the house. I missed seeing the Bloodroot in bloom, but it just covers sections of the woods like nothing I have seen before. I also have lots of patches of Jack-In-The-Pulpit, Swamp Saxifrage, Purple Avens, and lots lots more. I hope to compile a list over the next few years along with some nice trails to some of these hot spots.

1 Comment

  1. kaholly said,

    Oh, boy! Soounds like you just might have found your little piece of heaven. Congratulations. I look forward to reading all about it! ~karen

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

