Spring and other good things

March 29, 2007 at 5:49 am (Uncategorized)

Spring has got to be my favorite time of year.  It seems like every day a new nature event is taking place.  I find myself impatiently waiting for the first dragonfly, but I know I have another two or three weeks until the Common Green Darners come back and the Eastern Forktails emerge.  Until that time, I keep myself busy with other persuits.  I found wildflowers last year, and have manged to learn a little and enjoy them a lot.  This year I have been busy with “herps” as all my friends down at the Audubon call them.  Walking through the woods behind the factory I work at I found my first snake of the season, a garter snake.

Garter Snake

My friend Jennifer Schlick gave me a little tidbit on these guys, all garter snakes have a red tongue with a black tip.  If you would like to get more fun nature facts just click on her name and it will take you to her new blog.  A very exciting first for me this year was the salamander migration.  I have never seen this before, but the way that people talk you might think that it is better than Christmas.  Well I managed to miss the first night mostly due to my complete ignorance on the subject, but the next night I was still able to get out and see some spotted salamanders.  These are really fascinating animals.  My friend Tom did an amazing job writing up a blog entry on them.  I also saw my first spring peeper!  Who would think that such a little frog could make such a big noise?

3 Comments

  1. tim said,

    stupid cupid

  2. salman khan said,

    hahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

  3. sahki said,

    spring time ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Leave a Reply

