Backyard Birding

April 8, 2007 at 11:46 am (Uncategorized)

The large amount of snow that we have been getting has had one upside for me.  My backyard bird feeders have been as busy as I have ever seen them.  I live on a small plot (~150ft x 55ft) that is right in the middle of town.  Most of the nature I get to see is mice and squirrels.  Shortly after I moved in I started putting up bird feeders.  Now I have quite a collection in the backyard.  They have been relatively dead all winter.  I had a juvenile Coopers Hawk that spent the winter feasting on the pigeons that lived in my neighbors attic.  Either the songbirds got smart or got eaten, but either way they weren’t eating at the feeder.  The day after the snow though my feeders came to life again.  I saw all my old friends, the Slate-colored Juncos, the Chickadees, and the ever present House Sparrows.  I also got a few greedy Blue-Jays and a pair of the always stunning Cardinals.  At the suet feeder I started seeing the Starlings again, and the Downy Woodpecker even dropped in for a snack.  I also saw a lot of sparrows that weren’t house sparrows.  I decided that it was a great time to grab the camera and find out what I was looking at.  After snapping a picture of ever bird that I didn’t recognize and then breaking out the field guide I found that three new sparrows were at the feeder, the Chipping Sparrow, the American Tree Sparrow, and the Song Sparrow.  There may have been more, but I didn’t feel like I had enough knowledge to ID them correctly.  Slowly I keep learning the names.   I find that when I can assign a name to something I am much more interested in leaning about it.  You can believe that I will be reading about my three new friends in the coming weeks!

Chipping Sparrow

Song Sparrow 

2 Comments

  1. mon@rch said,

    J -such wonderful Song Sparrow and Chipping Sparrow pictures! Love hearing about your feeder birds!

  2. vapourgirl said,

    Gorgeous photographs.

Leave a Reply

